World T20: England win toss, opt to bowl first against South Africa


MUMBAI, INDIA: England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and chose to field first against South Africa in their World Twenty20 match at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Friday.

England stuck with the same side that lost by six wickets to the West Indies on Wednesday for the Super 10 Group 1 match.

It meant that left-arm pace bowler David Willey was again given the nod ahead of Liam Plunkett.

South Africa boast a formidable batting line-up, including Hashim Amla and AB de Villiers, as they seek to get their bid for a first international trophy off to a strong start.

South Africa:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Imran Tahir, Chris Morris, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn


Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey

Umpires: Sundaram Ravi (IND) and Paul Reiffel (AUS)

TV Umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)

Reserve umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

Match Referee: David Boon (AUS)

Leave A Reply