Quetta Gladiators became champion of HBL PSL4


Fast bowler Muhammad Hasnain’s 3-30 restricted Peshawar Zalmi to 138 on the loss of eight wickets in the ‘El Clasico’ final of the Pakistan Super League at the National Stadium Karachi today.

Quetta Gladiators drew the first blood with timely wickets of Peshawar Zalmi openers, Imamul Haq(3) and Kamran Akmal (21). The wicket-takers, Muhammad Hasnain and Muhammad Nawaz, forced Sammy’s team in defensive. 

Sohaib Maqsood (20), the middle-order batsman, contrary to expectations fell short to play a solid inning before leaving the crease after a soft dismissal on slow ball yorker.

Umar Amin with his failed pull shot cut short his time at the field with 38 off 33 on Hasnain’s ball but his prize wicket was of Pollard (7).

 A wary Sammy (18) couldn’t deliver in the death overs of the game, while he chooses not to give the strike to Wahab Riaz, he wasn’t able to connect the ball with his strikes either. 

DJ Bravo took two wickets while Fawad Ahmed and Muhammad Nawaz picked one each. 


Quetta Gladiators: Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Ahsan Ali, Rilee Rossouw, Umar Akmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt, wk), Dwayne Bravo, Mohammad Nawaz, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Hasnain, Fawad Ahmed

Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal (wk), Imam-ul-Haq, Kieron Pollard, Sohaib Maqsood, Darren Sammy (capt), Wahab Riaz, Chris Jordan, Hasan Ali, Tymal Mills, Umar Amin, Nabi Gul

This year, Quetta has an edge leaving the head-to-head in their favour with seven wins, five defeats and one no-result in 12 contests.

The Yellow Storm will be led by fans’ favourite Darren Sammy, whose inspirational leadership took Zalmi to claim the crown in the second edition. 

Shane Watson is in the form of his life and can be the deciding factor today 

Coming to the Quetta Gladiators, the Sarfraz Ahmed-led side will feature former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson.


Leave A Reply