PTI expected to finalize Azad Kashmir PM today


The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is probably going to finalize its candidate for the office of the prime minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir on Tuesday (Today), Geo News reported, citing sources.

Sources told Geo News that the PTI parliamentary party meeting jointly chaired by Federal Minister for Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan, Ali Amin Gandapur, and former prime minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry will finalize the candidate for the prime minister’s slot today.

The PTI parliamentary panel has already named Chaudhary Anwarul Haq for the post of AJK speaker, the sources added.

The Azad Jammu and Kashmir legislature session will begin today at 10:00 am. The newly elected members are going to be sworn in after which the speaker of the assembly and therefore the deputy speaker is going to be elected.

The new speaker and therefore the deputy speaker also will take the oath of office today also.

PM Imran Khan interviews AJK premier candidates

Earlier on July 30, Prime Minister Imran Khan had taken interviews of the elected members of the Azad Jammu Kashmir legislature for the prized post of prime minister.

Barristers Sultan Mahmood, Khawaja Farooq, Sardar Tanveer Ilyas Khan, and Azhar Sadiq had separate meetings with PM Imran.

Read More: Hurriyat calls for Kashmir talks, records steps to build confidence

Questions about the candidates’ vision for tourism, hydropower, minerals, health, education, and development works were asked by the premier, sources said.

PTI emerges largest party in AJK legislature

The PTI emerged because of the largest party within the Azad Jammu and Kashmir legislature following the recently held elections on July 25 within the territory. The party will consequently form a government within the region.

According to details, the PTI managed to secure a complete number of 32 seats (including reserved seats) while the PPP won 12 seats and therefore the PML-N has managed to secure seven seats within the AJKLA.

The Azad Jammu and Kashmir committee announced on Sunday that the PTI won three reserved seats for ladies, taking its total number of seats within the AJK legislature to 29.

The PPP and PML-N were ready to bag one women’s reserved seat each.

Leave A Reply