Pakistan whitewash West Indies, win the third T20 by 8 wickets


ABU DHABI: (Web Desk) – Pakistan have on Tuesday won the toss against West Indies in the third and final Twenty-20 International of the series and elected to bowl first, reported Dunya News.

Talking after winning the toss, Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed said that he wanted to win the match and complete the whitewash. Pakistan has already won the first two matches and sealed the 3-match series.

West Indies innings

After winning the toss, Pakistan put West Indies into batting. The batting woes of the visitors continued in the third T20I as well as Imad Wasim struck twice in two balls in his second over, getting Johnson Charles for just 5 and getting CAK Walton on the very next ball.

Afterwards, Fletcher also got run out in the 5th over, leaving the Windies 17 for 3 and in deeper trouble.

Imad Wasim got his third wicket in the ninth over when he bowled DJ Bravo, who added 9 runs. Nicholas Pooran was the next one to be dismissed, who scored 16 runs, before Muhammad Nawaz got his wicket.

After losing 5 wickets for 66 runs, experienced West Indian batsmen Marlon Samuels and Keiron Pollard were slow and steady as they had a 37-runs partnership off 44 balls. Samuels scored 42 runs off 59 balls whereas Pollard scored 16 runs off 17 balls.

Pakistan innings

Openers Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif gave Pakistan a positive start and added 36 runs in 5 overs. Sharjeel was first one to depart after scoring 11 runs off 13 balls. Khalid Latif followed him after being bowled by same bowler Kesrick Williams after scoring 21 runs.

Shoaib Malik and Babar Azam were in full control and took Pakistan over the line in the 16th over. Malik scored 43 and Azam remained not out on 27.

Pakistan squad:

Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed*†, Mohammad Nawaz (3), Imad Wasim, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees

West Indies squad:

J Charles, ADS Fletcher†, MN Samuels, CAK Walton, DJ Bravo, KA Pollard, N Pooran, CR Brathwaite*, SP Narine, JE Taylor, KOK Williams


Leave A Reply