Mamnoon Hussain elected as Pakistan’s 12th president



ISLAMABAD: According to the initial vote count, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s candidate Mamnoon Hussain has been elected as Pakistan’s 12th president, comfortably securing the majority vote in the presidential election, Express Newsreported on Tuesday.

Hussain will take oath on September 9.

The table below shows the number of electoral votes received by the PML-N and PTI candidates.

[table style=”1″]
Mamnoon Hussain Justice (retd) Wajiuddin Ahmed
National Assembly + Senate 277 34
Punjab Assembly 60 4
Sindh Assembly 25 2
Balochistan Assembly 55 1
Khyber Paktunkhwa 21 36

Mamnoon Hussain

Former Sindh governor and an alumnus of the Institute of Business Administration, from where he graduated in 1965, Hussain is an old loyalist of Nawaz Sharif and remained with the PML-N during the regime of former military ruler Pervez Musharraf. He served as the governor of Sindh from June to October 1999 and lost the post after the then army chief Gen Pervez Musharraf toppled the PML-N government in a military coup in Oct 1999.

Hussain belongs to Sindh and lives in Karachi, where he owns a textile business. He  was born in Uttar Pradesh, India, in 1940. In 1993, he inched closer to the party leadership when Nawaz contested his own removal from the premier’s office by then president Ghulam Ishaq Khan.

According to analysts, picking Hussain as its presidential candidate would help the party counter the PPP’s claims that the PML-N was accommodating only Punjab-based politicians at offices in the centre. He contested the 2002 elections from NA-250 (Karachi) on PML-N ticket but had no luck. He is also a former president of the Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCI).

Source: Express Tribune

Leave A Reply