HEC Bans MPhil and PhD Programs in 13 renowned universities of Pakistan


The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has barred 13 universities from enrolling students in MPhil and Ph.D. distance learning programs. The reason behind this is noncompliance of universities with the HEC approved guidelines.

After conducting physical visits to the campuses, HEC found that the universities lack the adequate faculty.

Around 4,000 students will be impacted by this decision. However, HEC has directed the institutions to shift these students to regular programs of the universities.

Banned Universities

Following universities were banned by the HEC Quality Assurance Division;

  • International Islamic University, Islamabad;
  • Virtual Campus, COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Islamabad,
  • University of Peshawar, Peshawar;
  • Gomal University, Dera Ismail Khan;
  • Government College University, Faisalabad;
  • University of Agriculture, Faisalabad;
  • The University of Faisalabad;
  • Islamia University, Bahawalpur;
  • Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan;
  • Sukkur IBA;
  • Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur;
  • University of Sindh, Jamshoro and
  • University of Balochistan, Quetta.

HEC’s letter sent out to the universities reads;

Further admissions in any of the distance education programs being offered by universities are stopped immediately till finalisation of recommendation by the committee.

Admissions to these universities have been banned until further notice by HEC.

No Proper Policy

It is pertinent to mention here that HEC is yet to formulate any policy regarding the distance learning programmes. HEC checks the quality of these programs on the basis of the same policy that is implemented for regular degree programs.

HEC has drafted a new policy regarding distance learning programmes, however, it has not been approved yet. Currently, 70,000 students are enrolled in the distance learning programs in different universities across the country.



Leave A Reply