Bismah Maroof named Pakistan captain for England T20s


Pakistan have appointed Bismah Maroof to lead the national women’s Twenty20 side during the upcoming tour to England while Sana Mir has her captaincy responsibilities cut down to the one-day side only.

Bismah, a middle-order batsman, was awarded the captaincy role after Mir stepped down from the position following the Women’s World T20 earlier this year.

Uncapped 24-year-old Aiman Anwer came into the ODI side becoming one of the six changes from the squad which last played in October 2015.

All the new names Maroof, Nahida Khan, Muneeba Ali, Sadia Yousuf, wicketkeeper Sidra Nawaz and Nain Abidi – represented Pakistan in the World T20.

Pakistan were in for a chance to play in the semi-final after impressive shows against India and Bangladesh in the group stage but a heavy defeat to England knocked them out of the tournament.

Javeria Khan, who suffered a fracture on her right thumb after being hit by a bouncer in the World T20 had recovered and named the vice captain of the T20 side while Maroof became became the vice captain of the ODI team.

Of the 15 women who represented Pakistan at the World T20 in India, only Aliya Riaz and Diana Baig were not included in the squad for the England tour.

Pakistan will face England in three ODIs, all of which contribute to the Women’s Championship where Pakistan stand second from bottom and two T20s.

The tour kicks off in Leicester on June 20 and ends in Southampton on July 5.

Pakistan Women’s ODI and T20 squad

Javeria Khan, Nahida Khan, Sidra Ameen, Bismah Maroof (T20 capt), Muneeba Ali, Sana Mir (ODI capt), Nida Dar, Iram Javed, Asmavia Iqbal, Anam Amin, Sania Iqbal, Sadia Yousuf, Aiman Anwer, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Nain Abidi

Leave A Reply